Feist Feast!

Sunday brought 11 lovely ladies dancing…just like the 12 days of Dance Dance Party Party!!  (Do I smell a DDPP holiday album??)  11 beautiful, fabulous, outrageous and unique ladies came and shook it with us… well, me… poor Marcy is home with a cold!  Send her some good dancing vibes, ladies!

I tend to be a bit of a scatterbrain at times and because the room opened late and I was trying to get the dancing started ASAP, I put the mix on without taking it off shuffle.  No biggie!  I figured I’d just skip the cool down if it came up mid-mix and we’d still all have an “Independent Woman” rocking good time.  Little did I know this would be an awesome mistake resulting in one of the happiest moments I’ve felt at DDPP in a long time!  Feist’s “1234” came up last and I swear I’ve never seen a more joyful group of women!  It was amazing!  I kept making eye contact as we skipped (SKIPPED!!  Like not even, “I’ll skip because everyone else is” but like full on, child-like skipping!) and everyone was BEAMING.  Joy joy joy and what a way to end DDPP! Thank you for being AWESOME ladies!

And now here is the mix (not necessarily the way it was played, but can we ever really recreate something like that?  Not likely.) from DJ Scratcher K (Kim Braun) with a little help from yours truly:

Independent Woman Part I – Destiny’s Child
Lady Marmalade – Christina Aguilera et al
Walk Away – Kelly Clarkson
Material Girl – Madonna
With Every Beat of My Heart – Taylor Dayne
Crazy in Love – Beyonce
Let Me Talk to You Prelude/My Love – Justin Timberlake
Maneater – Nelly Furtado
Maneater – Hall & Oates
It’s My Life – No Doubt
We Got The Beat – The Go Gos
Stonger – Britney
I Will Survive – Gloria Gaynor
You Keep Me Hanging On – Kim Wilde
Hips Don’t Lie – Shakira
Fighter – Christina Aguilera
Love is a Battlefield – Pat Benatar
The Goonies R Good Enough – Cyndi Lauper
Respect – Aretha Franklin
It’s Not Right But It’s OK (Thunderpuss Radio Mix) – Whitney Houston
1234 – Feist
(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman – Aretha Franklin

This week we’re dancing in Room 3E (nice and big and velvety red curtain goodness!) with a mix from one of our favorites who hasn’t DJ’d in quite a while – DJ Hot Violet (Simone Kornfield)!

See you then! Same rocking time, same rocking place!

xoxo

Your DDPP Den Mothers of Dance!

Leave a Reply

